Come on out and watch us make history for a meager $12 this Saturday at the Kimo Theater, starting at 6:30, Seating is reserved so get your seats soon and save on service charges by visting the Kimo Box Office. Let's show the city exactly how much we love our poets and the arts in the 505!
KiMo Theater

With a staggering list of spoken word artists, masters of their craft and encompassing NM's insanely rich slam history and poetic heritage, past and present, the event promise a brilliant display of verbal fireworks. The last 12 poets standing will take their craft and performance to audience and judges to determine which one will take the title - the world's first and only Slam Poet Laureate, chosen by the people and recognized by the Mayor and the City of Albuquerque.

With a huge prize package and the honor of wearing this title for the first time, it's all on the line for the following poets emerging from the first rounds:
• Jessica Lopez
• Danny Solis
Manuel Gonzalez
• Tracey Pontani
• Adan Baca
• Damien Flores
• Rich Boucher
• Hakim Bellamy
Carlos Contreras
• Jimmy Lusero
• Sina Aurelia Soul
• Christian Drake
Plus performances by Zachary Kluckman with Alana Grier & Rio Duende, Faylita Hicks, Def Poet Idris Goodwin and more!

We're not just making history, we're getting ready to change the face of poetry and bring spoken word back to the people! Be there for what will definitely be the slam of the decade as we appoint the "world's first Slam Poet Laureate" … history – happens now!

click to view larger image

Tickets for the finals show are on sale through Ticketmaster or by visiting the Kimo Theater Box Office in person if you want to avoid the handling charges. Please visit NM Poetry Tangents for more info and details or call (505) 908-4987.

Ed. Note: although billed as a competition to determine the "first and only Slam Poet Laureate in history," I must respectfully point out that Basque poets have, been doing something comparable under a different name and possibly more challenging for centuries: the Bertsolari Txapelketa, the national championship of bertsolaritza, the improvised contest poetry from Basque oral tradition